Fun Kid’s Craft Project With Crayons……Did I Mention, It’s Dirt Cheap?

Hey all,

Every year, I check in crafts and fine arts for 4-H at our county fair.  I saw this fun little idea come in. 

It’s a great way to use up old crayons or all the left overs from previous school years…………Here is what you need:

Hot glue gun

extra glue sticks

old crayons (or you can get new ones super cheap with back to school sale right now:)

piece of card board…….even a cereal box would work for this ( if you want to get fancy, you can buy a small art canvas, as shown in the above picture.

Cookie sheet scraper (to scrape crayon wax off your counter or other working surface….it works great)

Blow dryer (yes my boys decorated mine!)

 

You are going to hot glue the crayons side by side (I did ours so they were touching).  You can do many different colors or go with a particular color scheme, such as shades of blue, ect.   As soon as the glue sets (which is not very long), Go ahead and start blowing the crayons to get them to melt.  If you have a diffuser for your dryer, this will work better for melting just the tips of the crayons.  I didn’t but it turned out ok:)  Allow the melted wax to run down the cardboard.  To give it the ‘striped’ look, keep your dryer aimed straight on as you melt the crayons.  To mix the colors as they run down (shown in the first picture), wave the dryer back and forth across the cardboard.

Here are my sons competed crayon melt pictures:

 Here’s mine…..cause, darn it!  I like to play too:)

 

Hope you enjoyed this post!  I would love to see pictures if you try it!  I would love to put them up in a future post……If you would like them posted in a future post, you can email them to me at: sarahsfabcreations@gmail.com.  Can’t wait to see what comes in!!!

This entry was posted in County Fair, craft projects, tutorial and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fun Kid’s Craft Project With Crayons……Did I Mention, It’s Dirt Cheap?

  1. Now I want to go and buy a box of crayons..lol:)

  2. I think these melted crayon projects always look so cool. 🙂

    Stopping by from Blogging Buddies!

Leave a Reply

