Frozen Corn Recipe

Hey everyone,

I don’t know how many of you like corn-on-the-cob…….but I LOVE it!  I’m always sad when cob season is done!  I can’t stand canned corn from the store……nothing but rubbery, tough-to-chew, ickyness.  So, I’ve decided to share a recipe with you that my Mom and Grandma and I have used over the years.  I think it makes the corn taste just like it came off the cob….nice and sweet!

First……get yourself some corn…..duh.  Husk, remove the silks and rinse it off with water.

FROZEN CORN

9 cups of corn (approx. 1 dozen ears.)  I usually thrown in 1 extra ears for good measure.

3 cups water

1/4 cup sugar

1 TBLSP salt

Cut  the corn off the cob and put in a large pot.  Add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a boil for 2-3 minutes.  Cool and Freeze.

Each batch will make about 4  quart size baggies when you put 2 cups in each bag.

*I usually use quart size freezer bags.  I put 2 cups of the corn mixture in each bag.  They are the perfect size for our little family.

I hope you enjoy this recipe and try it!  If you do, let me know how you like it!!!!!

This entry was posted in recipe, tutorial and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Frozen Corn Recipe

  1. Thanks for sharing Sarah! Will have to try it this year…I just love our Michigan sweet corn and the season is never long enough!

  2. I love corn on the cob too…But as I’ve gotten older I have to admit I hate when the kernels get stuck between my teeth. Just a little pet peeve i guess you could say!
    I LOVE your recipe and can’t wait to try it’ll be nice to have it for the winter months…:) Thanks for the share!

  3. Heather says:

    That’s a really great idea! thanks for sharing!

    Blogging Buddies Team

  4. sarah says:

    that looks good – corn’s not such a big thing here in the UK, but I do love it when the season starts!

Leave a Reply

